RiverHawks continue to build for inaugural season

01/09/03 RiverHawks Press Release

KNOXVILLE, TN-  As the inaugural season approaches, the Tennessee RiverHawks continue to build the Indoor Football team that will represent Knoxville in the 2003 National Indoor Football League season.  The team has added six players to the current roster.

Scotty Stewart, James Beavers, Thomas Stallworth, Sam Hardy, Smith Jean-Philippe, Thomas “Bo” McCray, and Mike Curcio have committed to the team for the upcoming season.  “We are continuing to bring in quality talent in anticipation of a championship season,” said General Manager Garmez Parks of the signings.   

Offensive Lineman Hardy graduated from Carson-Newman College spending the 1995 season with the Arizona Cardinals of the NFL and 1996 with the AFL Memphis Pharaohs.  Stewart, brother of Detroit Lions running back James “Little Man” Stewart, a Defensive Back/Free Safety, who played at Maryville College, returns for his third season of Indoor Football.  Another Maryville College Alum, Smith Jean-Philippe played and coached at Maryville before becoming a teacher in the Knox County School System.

James Beavers was the defensive player of the year in 2001 and crowd favorite for the Tennessee ThunderCats before a knee injury cut his 2002 season short.  Beavers says he is looking forward to returning after months of rehabilitation to return him to game shape.  Wide Receiver McCray became an integral part of the ThunderCats 2002 season after injuries plagued much of the starting offense.  Stallworth, an Outside Linebacker from the University of Tennessee, and Defensive Lineman Curcio, who is coming out of retirement, have also signed with the team.

The RiverHawks inaugural season will begin March 22 at the Civic Coliseum versus the 2002 NIFL Champion Ohio Valley Greyhounds.  Season tickets are on sale now, call 637-2000 or visit www.riverhawksfootball.com for more information.


The NIFL and its member teams are not affiliated, sponsored or associated with the Arena Football League or any of its member teams.
© 2001, 2002 National Indoor Football League. NIFL, National Indoor Football League, and the NIFL logo design are registered trademarks of the National Indoor Football League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the teams indicated. No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of the National Indoor Football League The National Indoor Football League take no responsibility for third-party material appearing in any bulletin board or chat sections of this site.  All rights reserved.

Privacy & legal information