Horsemen announce broadcast team

03/05/03 Horsemen Press Release

     The Lexington Horsemen today announced that they have signed Ryan Lemond and Mary Jo Perino of WLEX-TV and Jim Tirey of WLAP-AM to serve as announcers for the team’s 2003 radio broadcasts, which will air on WLAP-AM (630).  Together, the trio has 35 years of broadcasting experience.

     “We couldn’t be happier with Ryan, Mary Jo and Jim on our team,” said team president Ron Borkowski.  “They are all consummate professionals, and we’re confident that they will be entertaining, informative, and a lot of fun to listen to during the games.”

     Ryan Lemond has served as a sports anchor at WLEX since February 1996.  Prior to joining WLEX, he spent two years as the sports anchor for the NBC affiliate in Evansville, Indiana.  He had been anchoring and reporting sports in the Evansville market since graduating cum laude from Kentucky Wesleyan College in 1989 with a B.A. in mass communications.

     Mary Jo Perino joined WLEX in 2002 as a sports anchor and reporter.  Prior to her arrival in Lexington, she served as a news reporter and sports anchor in Terre Haute, Indiana for three years.  She is a 1999 cum laude graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia.

     Jim Tirey is the host of Sportstalk 630 on WLAP, the top rated sports talk show in Lexington.  He also co-hosts University of Kentucky pre- and post-game football and basketball coverage for WLAP and WBUL (98.1 FM).  Tirey has 17 years of broadcasting experience, and has served on the broadcast teams of Union College, Georgetown College, and Eastern Kentucky University.  Tirey studied broadcasting at Eastern Kentucky University and Western Kentucky University.

     The Horsemen’s first home game will be held on March 29.  For more information about the team, please call 859-422-PASS or visit  Season tickets are still available, and single-game opening day tickets are now available as well.  Fans can order tickets by calling the Rupp Arena box office at 859-233-3535 or by visiting

The NIFL and its member teams are not affiliated, sponsored or associated with the Arena Football League or any of its member teams.
© 2001, 2002 National Indoor Football League. NIFL, National Indoor Football League, and the NIFL logo design are registered trademarks of the National Indoor Football League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the teams indicated. No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of the National Indoor Football League The National Indoor Football League take no responsibility for third-party material appearing in any bulletin board or chat sections of this site.  All rights reserved.

Privacy & legal information