Coakley earns Player of the week honors

04/08/03 Night Train Press Release

            For the second time this season, the La Crosse Night Train’s Derric Coakley (DE/LB) earned NIFL Pacific Conference Defensive Player of Week honors for Week three. Coakley collected 11 tackles, three for loss, two quarterback hurries, and one fumble recovery against the Tri-City Diesel on March 29th. The former Wayne State (MI) graduate was also tabbed as Player of the Week in Week one.

            Coakley is also listed amongst the league leaders in a pair of defensive categories. He is currently seventh in tackles (19) and is listed eighth with four tackles for loss. Coakley’s 19 tackles leads the Night Train defense which is currently ranked at the fifth-best defense in the league. The Night Train “D” is allowing just 183.7 yards per game.

            A list of the Night Train’s overall league rankings follows:


Red Zone %-               1st            92.3% 12 of 13 scoring

Field Goal %-               t2nd            50%  6 of 12

Rushing Offense-             4th            98.7 ypg

First Downs-                6th            39

Total Offense-             10th            213.7 ypg

Scoring Offense-             10th            42.3 ppg

Passing Offense-             16th            115 ypg


Rushing Yards-             Chris Floyd   2nd            192 yards

Rushing TD’s-             Chris Floyd   9th            5 TD’s

Total Offense-             Johnny Johnson 7th            142.7 ypg

Passing Offense-             Johnny Johnson 10th    115.7 ypg

Scoring-                       Brett Gorden 1st            29 pts.

Kickoff Return-             Freddie Cruz     4th            24.2 ypr


Total Defense-              5th            183.7 ypg

Pass Defense-             5th            112.3 ypg

Scoring Defense-             t7th      35.7 ppg

Turnover Margin-             7th            +2

Rushing Defense-             13th      71.3




The NIFL and its member teams are not affiliated, sponsored or associated with the Arena Football League or any of its member teams.
© 2001, 2002 National Indoor Football League. NIFL, National Indoor Football League, and the NIFL logo design are registered trademarks of the National Indoor Football League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the teams indicated. No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of the National Indoor Football League The National Indoor Football League take no responsibility for third-party material appearing in any bulletin board or chat sections of this site.  All rights reserved.

Privacy & legal information