Trio signed by the Night Train

04/30/03 Night Train Press Release

            The La Crosse Night Train of the National Indoor Football League continued their flurry of roster moves with the signing of three more players today. Ryan Hinske (WR, UW-Oshkosh), Tony Church (OL/TE, UW-Oshkosh), and Hiawatha Phifer (DB, Western Illinois) are the newest members of the La Crosse team.

            Hinske played for the Lincoln Capitols in 2002 where he caught nine touchdown passes in just four games. He was also a member of the IFL-champion Green Bay Bombers in 1999 and 2000.

            Church joins the Night Train upon release from the Green Bay Blizzard (AF2) last week. Church played for the Frankfurt Galaxy of NFL Europe in 1999 as a member of the Tennessee Titans. He was an All-Conference performer for UW-Oshkosh in 1996.

            Defensively, the Night Train added defensive back Hiawatha Phifer. Phifer most recently played for the Quad City Steamwheelers (AF2). He spent three seasons with the Steamwheelers after beginning his professional career in the Arena Football League in 1996. Phifer’s six years of experience includes four indoor/arena championships.

            La Crosse (3-3, 3-3) will take on Omaha (3-0, 3-2) Friday night at 7:00 p.m. at the La Crosse Center.




The NIFL and its member teams are not affiliated, sponsored or associated with the Arena Football League or any of its member teams.
© 2001, 2002 National Indoor Football League. NIFL, National Indoor Football League, and the NIFL logo design are registered trademarks of the National Indoor Football League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the teams indicated. No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of the National Indoor Football League The National Indoor Football League take no responsibility for third-party material appearing in any bulletin board or chat sections of this site.  All rights reserved.

Privacy & legal information