FireAnts fall to Champs

06/14/03 FireAnts Press Release

The Tupelo FireAnts fell to the defending National Indoor Football League champion Ohio Valley Greyhounds by a score of 57-14 at the BancorpSouth Center Friday night.

Offensive leaders for the FireAnts tonight were quarterback Darryl Carter, who in his debut as Tupelo’s signal-caller, completed eight of 22 passes for 104 yards with three interceptions and a touchdown. Carter also ran the ball nine times for 21 yards and ran in a two-point conversion in the third quarter. Halfback Allen Copeland ran the ball nine times for 17 yards and a touchdown. Chris Rainey hauled in four receptions for 79 yards and a score. Brand-new FireAnts wideout Surhaver Fair grabbed three passes for 24 yards. Nekemia Rich and Eric Bingham each returned 3 kickoffs for a total of 102 yards. Erick Chandler had a game-high eight tackles and a sack. Tupelo totaled 121 yards of offense with 12 first downs and eleven penalties for 105 yards. The FireAnts’ record falls to 1-10.

The Ohio Valley Greyhounds were led by quarterback Shane Franzer, who completed 10 of 18 passes for 164 yards, with five touchdowns and no interceptions. Halfbacks Rayshawn Askew and Lloyd Clemons each gained 48 yards on the ground with Clemons running in two for touchdowns. Steve Vagedes hauled in four receptions for 89 yards and three touchdowns. John Muckerson and John Cooper each had a touchdown through the air as well. On defense, Gary Jackson, Allan Jackson, and Willie Jackson each had an interception. Roosevelt Benjamin and Allan Jackson each had nine tackles while Eddie Bynes had one and a half tackles for a loss, including a sack, bringing his season total to 18. Ohio Valley totaled 264 yards of offense with 19 first downs and seven penalties for 55 yards. The Greyhounds’ record improves to 11-0.

The FireAnts take on the Lake Charles Land Sharks at the BancorpSouth Center on Friday, June 20th.  Kickoff is set for 7:05pm.  For tickets, call the BancorpSouth Center Box Office at (662) 841-6528.




The NIFL and its member teams are not affiliated, sponsored or associated with the Arena Football League or any of its member teams.
© 2001, 2002 National Indoor Football League. NIFL, National Indoor Football League, and the NIFL logo design are registered trademarks of the National Indoor Football League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the teams indicated. No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of the National Indoor Football League The National Indoor Football League take no responsibility for third-party material appearing in any bulletin board or chat sections of this site.  All rights reserved.

Privacy & legal information