Warriors ask, where's the Beef?

07/22/03 Warriors Press Release

Of the twenty-four NIFL teams, only two are still playing, the Ohio Valley Greyhounds and the Utah Warriors!  The Warriors kept a close eye on last Friday’s game as they heard the Greyhounds had edged out the Lake Charles LandSharks 43 to 41.  On Saturday the Warrior had to focus on their game with the Omaha Beef though.  No team had won on the road throughout the 2003 playoffs and Utah knew they would have to bring their A game if they wanted to get past Omaha.  The Warriors did exactly that, played one of their best games of the year and beat the Beef 62 to 51.  The win gave the Warriors the title of 2003 Pacific Conference Champions.

Utah entered the Omaha Civic Center and faced a large, very noisy and supportive Beef crowd.  After the first drive the Warriors proved that neither the mocking signs, nor the rambunctious fans would intimidate them.  The team put seven points on the board and never looked back.  In fact, the Warriors lead by as much as 25 points at one point in the third quarter. 

Despite considerable criticism during the regular season it was the defense that stepped up big Saturday night.  The defense caused an interception by Jay Hill, four fumbles, including one run back for a touchdown by Bart Admundsen, and put pressure on QB Troy Travis all night.  Omaha had no answer for the defense, especially the defensive lineman who all but chewed up the Beef’s running game. 

Danny Ragsdale and the power offense did their job as well.  Ragsdale threw for 218 total yards and 5 TD’s.  Jasen Quinn scored 3 touchdowns, Cody Weight 1, Emmett White 1 receiving and 1 rushing and Omar Bacon scored 2 rushing.  The Offensive line were a key to the success giving their QB the time he needed to make big plays.  Although Omaha did attempt to make a late run at the end of the fourth quarter, it was too late, the Beef were already cooked and the Utah Warriors were well on their way to the National Title Game to be held in Wheeling, West Virginia.        

The Indoor Bowl III is set for August 2nd, 2003.




The NIFL and its member teams are not affiliated, sponsored or associated with the Arena Football League or any of its member teams.
© 2001, 2002 National Indoor Football League. NIFL, National Indoor Football League, and the NIFL logo design are registered trademarks of the National Indoor Football League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the teams indicated. No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of the National Indoor Football League The National Indoor Football League take no responsibility for third-party material appearing in any bulletin board or chat sections of this site.  All rights reserved.

Privacy & legal information