UW-Eau Claire, AF2 standout join LaCrosse Night Train

12/10/02 Night Train Press Release

           Former UW-Eau Claire and Peoria Pirate (AF2) quarterback Sean Hoolihan has signed a 2003 player contract with the La Crosse Night Train of the National Indoor Football League. Hoolihan will join the Night Train at training camp in February and will compete for the starting QB spot with current Night Train signee Marrial Shields. 

Hoolihan holds numerous single season passing records for the Pirates. In 2001, he threw for 2,706 yards, 47 touchdowns, and rushed for an additional 181 yards and nine scores. The Wadena, Minnesota, native also holds single game franchise records for yards (304) and TD’s (5 two times). He was selected to the IFL Pro Bowl in 2000 as a member of the Duluth Lumberjacks and led the Franken Knights to a 15-1 record and a league championship in Germany in 1999.

            While at UW-Eau Claire, Hoolihan led his squad to the Division III Final Four in 1998 and a 10-3 overall record. He threw for 2,629 yards, 18 TD’s and rushed for an additional 623 yards and five TD’s his senior season.

            “Our entire off season has been dedicated to improving at every spot, ensuring that we have a competitive training camp. The quarterback position is no different,” Head Coach Mike Brown said. “Signing Sean ensures us that we will have a quality quarterback that will lead us in the 2003 season.”

“In 2002 we turned down Ryan Aulenbacher because of our assumptions. Ryan ended up as the third highest rated quarterback in the NIFL. That situation will not happen again. Every talented player that is interested in our organization that wants to play will get a fair shot,” Coach Brown added.

Training camp for the Night Train’s upcoming season will begin on February 28, 2003. The Night Train will open the 2003 campaign at home on March 14 against the Sioux City Bandits.


The NIFL and its member teams are not affiliated, sponsored or associated with the Arena Football League or any of its member teams.
© 2001, 2002 National Indoor Football League. NIFL, National Indoor Football League, and the NIFL logo design are registered trademarks of the National Indoor Football League. The team names, logos and uniform designs are registered trademarks of the teams indicated. No portion of this site may be reproduced without the express written permission of the National Indoor Football League The National Indoor Football League take no responsibility for third-party material appearing in any bulletin board or chat sections of this site.  All rights reserved.

Privacy & legal information